Click here to load whole tree
NITAAI-Veda.nyf > Spiritual Questions & Answers > Pre-2007 QnA Swami Gaurangapada > bahudha bhakti-rasabhinartakah

Title: bahudha bhakti-rasabhinartakah

User: MatusDate: 2006-07-06 13:39:17


Dear Swami Gaurangapada Gurudeva,

Nityananda! Gauranga! Hare Krishna!


Please accept my humble obeisances at Your Lotus Feet.


Shrila Bhaktisiddhanta Saraswati Thakura Prabhupada writes in His commentary to Chaitanya Bhagavata, Adi-khanda 1.4:


The phrase bahudha bhakti-rasabhinartakau is explained as follows: When the five direct rasas and seven indirect rasas interact with one another it is called bhakti-rasa. The object of attachment for the devotees situated in the five direct rasas, Shri Gaurasundara, danced along with those who had taken shelter of Him.


Could You please shed Your light on this commentary, especially on the last sentence?


Thank You very very much,


Yours humbly,




Title: Re: bahudha bhakti-rasabhinartakah

User: Swami Gaurangapada Date: 2006-07-16 21:53:55


Nityananda! Gauranga! Hare Krishna! In Lord Gaurasundara's pastimes, the devotees of all His incarnations came to taste the highest pure love of naam sankirtana including His Vaikuntha, Ayodhya, Dvaraka and Vraja associates. The first 2.5 rasas are present in Vaikuntha: shanta (neutrality), dasya (servitorship) and sakhya (friendship) mixed with awe and reverence. Whereas the balance 2,5 including intimate friendship raternity and conjugal love without awe and reverence, are present in Goloka only. So all the associates with all the 5 mellows joined Lord Guaranga in His pastimes and He reciprocated with all of them. The other 7 indirect rasas described in the Shri Chaitanya Charitamrita and Bhakti Rasamrita Sindhu are only supplementary to these 5 main mellows of the soul's relationship with the Lord.


††††††††††††††††† santa, dasya, sakhya, vatsalya, madhura-rasa naya

krishna-bhakti-rasa madhye ei pa-ca pradhana


The chief transcendental mellows experienced with the Supreme†††††††††††††††††† Personality of Godhead are five - santa, dasya, sakhya,†††††††††††††††††† vatsalya, and madhura-rasa. (Chaitanya-Charitamrita Madhya†††††††††††††††††† 19.185)†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††


†††††††††††††††††† The seven secondary rasas.†††††††††††††††

††††††††††††††††† hasya, adbhuta, vira, karuna, raudra, vibhatsa, bhaya

††††††††††††††††† pa-ca-vidha bhakte gauna sapta-rasa haya


In addition to the five direct mellows, there are seven†††††††††††††††††† indirect mellows, known as laughter, wonder, chivalry,†††††††††††††††††† compassion, anger, disaster, and fear.(Chaitanya-Charitamrita†††††††††††††††††† Madhya 19.187)