Click here to load whole tree
NITAAI-Veda.nyf > Soul Science God Philosophy > Your Secret Journey > Your Secret Journey > Knowledge Of Evolution

Perfect Knowledge Of Evolution           


The Vedic texts explain that there is evolution - not of the body but of the soul. A lower bodily form does not evolve into a higher bodily form; rather the soul in a lower bodily form evolves into a higher bodily form."Originally, the living entity is a spiritual being, but when he desires to enjoy this material world, he comes down. First, the living entity accepts a body that is human in form, but gradually, due to his degraded activities, he falls into lower forms of life - into the animal, plant and aquatic forms. By the gradual process of evolution, the living entity again attains the body of a human being and is given another chance to get out of the process of transmigration. If he again misses his chance in the human form to understand his position, he is again placed in the cycle of birth and death in various types of bodies." {Srimad Bhagavatam 4.29.4)


The Brahma-Vaivarta Purana says:


as'itim caturas caiva laksams tan jiva-jatisu bhramadbhih purusaih prapyam manusyam janma-paryayat

tad apy aphalatam jatah tesam. atmabhimaninam varakanam anasritya govinda-carana-dvayam


"One attains the human form of life after transmigrating through 8,400,000 species of life by the process of gradual evolution.  That human  form  of life  is spoiled for those conceited fools who do not take shelter of the lotus feet of Govinda (Krishna)."


The Padma Purana further states:


jala-ja nava-laksani sthavara laksa-vimsati

krmaya rudra-sankhyakah paksnam dasa-laksani

pasavas trimsa-laksani manusya catur-laksani


"There are 900,000 species of aquatic life; 2,000,000 species of plants and trees; 1,100,000 species of insects; 1,000,000 species of bird life; 3,000,000 species of beasts, and 400,000 species of human life."


The meaning of "species" understood by biologists is different from the meaning implied here. The meaning of "species" used by biologists applies to the gross physical appearance or the gross morphological feature of the living material bodies. The Vedic meaning, however, is based on the level of consciousness of the living being. For example, biologists say that all human beings belong to one species, whereas the Vedic literatures list 400,000 human species. In other words, there are 400,000 grades of human beings on different levels of consciousness.


The varieties of life forms are products of the combinations and permutations of the three modes of material nature - goodness, passion and ignorance. The life forms are just like temporary houses or apartments of various sizes, shapes, and colors, in which the eternal self, or living being, temporarily resides. One may occupy one of these apartments according to one's ability to pay the rent, but all types of apartments nevertheless exist simultaneously. Similarly, the soul, according to his karma, is given the facility to occupy one of these bodily forms, but all the forms exist simultaneously. Therefore the body does not evolve; the soul evolves by paying the price of karma. The biological forms, governed by the three modes, put a constraint on the qualities and activities of the living beings' consciousness. Thus the individual being in a tiger's body will desire to roar loudly and kill animals for food, while the living being in swan's body will desire to fly gracefully and swim on the surface of lakes. Even in the same family we see differences caused by the activities of the three modes of nature.


Although all animals are in the mode of ignorance, they are influenced by the modes of goodness and passion in varying degrees. Cows, for example, are very simple, and their behavior is very mild; they are influenced by the mode of goodness to some extent. The ferocious nature of lions and tigers, on the other hand, reveals their passionate consciousness; while camels are almost completely in the mode of ignorance. Similarly, in the family of birds, the swans are very noble and gracious, showing symptoms of goodness; hawks, eagles, and peacocks are predominantly in the mode of passion; and vultures and crows are predominantly in the mode of ignorance. Although the biological forms in the same family may be similar in nature, the consciousness and behavior of these birds and animals are different. For example, a cat and tiger appear similar, but if you clap your hands loudly near it, the cat will run away from you in fear, whereas the tiger will run towards you and cause fear in you. Thus there are millions of forms where the eternal -soul temporarily resides displaying his behavior according to how the three modes of material nature affect his consciousness.