Click here to load whole tree
NITAAI-Veda.nyf > All Scriptures By Acharyas > Puranas > THE FIFTH VEDA PURANA > LESSON FIVE PART 2






   The four yugas are known as a divya yuga. One divya yuga is 12,000 years of the demigods or 4,320,000 human years.




                 KRTA or SATYA-YUGA (Golden Age)



Duration      -  4,800 demigods years or 1,728,000 human years

Life span     -  100,000 years

Yuga dharma   -  meditation or astanga yoga having eight parts.


              1) Yama       -   Rules

              2) Niyama     -   Restrictions

              3) Asana      -   Sitting postures

              4) Pranayama  -   Breathing exercises

              5) Pratyahara -   Sense restriction

              6) Dharana    -   Meditation

              7) Dhyana     -   Undisturbed meditation

              8) Samadhi    -   Total absorbtion


Yuga Avatara    (11.5.21)


                The yuga avatara is white with four arms, has

                matted hair and  wears a garment of tree bark. He

                carries a black deerskin, a sacred thread, prayer

                beads and the rod and waterpot of a brahmacari.


Symptoms of Satya-yuga


                The people are peaceful, non-envious, friendly

                and naturally Krishna conscious. In Satya-yuga

                there was no division of asrama, everyone was a

                paramahamsa. There was no demigod worship, only

                the worship of Krishna and religion was perfectly



                          (S.B. 11.5.21-22)(S.B. Canto 9 Ch. 14)




                      TRETA-YUGA (Silver Age)



Duration      - 3,600 demigod years or 1,296,00 human years

Life span     - 10,000 years

Yuga dharma   - Fire sacrifice, Yajna

Yuga Avatara  - The yuga avatara is red. He has four arms and

                golden hair. He wears a triple belt representing

                initiation into the three Vedas. His symbols are

                the sruk, sruva, etc.,(ladle, spoon and other

                implements of sacrifice).


Symptoms of Treta-yuga


                In Treta-yuga the people are thoroughly

                religious. In Satya-yuga people are naturally

                Krishna conscious. In Treta-yuga they are inclined

                to become Krishna conscious. To achieve that end

                they are very strict in following Vedic





                      DVARPARA-YUGA (Copper Age)



Duration      - 2,400 demigod years or 864,000 human years

Life span     - 1,000 years

Yuga Avatara  - In Dvapara-yuga his complexion is dark blue. He

                wears yellow garments. His body is marked with

                Shrivatsa and other distinctive ornaments, and He

                manifests His personal weapons.


          NOTE: In other Dvapara-yugas before Krishna's appearance,

                the yuga avatara was somewhat greenish.


                The original Personality of Godhead from whom all

                other incarnations expand is Shri Krishna. He

                appears once in a day of Brahma, during the

                period of the seventh manu (Vaivasvata) in the

                28th divyayuga. The original Personality of

                Godhead Krishna only comes once in a day of Brahma.

                Although in every Dvapara-yuga there is a yuga

                avatara, they are all expansions of Vishnu,

                who is an expansion of Shri Krishna.


Symptoms of Dvapara-yuga


                In Dvapara-yuga people have the weaknesses of

                mortal beingss, but they have a strong desire to

                know about the Absolute Truth and they worship

                the Lord in the mood of honoring a great king,

                following the prescriptions of both Vedas and



                      KALI-YUGA (Iron Age)



Duration      - 1,200 demigod years or 432,000 human years

Life span     - 100 years

Yuga dharma   - Chanting the Hare Krishna (Maha) mantra

Yuga Avatara  - The yuga avatara for the age of Kali is golden or

                yellow. For this Kali-yuga Lord Chaitanya has

                appeared although He does not appear in every

                Kali-yuga. The yuga avatara for Kali-yuga is

                generally black. Lord Chaitanya, who is Krishna

                Himself, appears only in the Kali-yuga

                immediately following the appearance of Shri Krishna

                in Dvapara-yuga.


Symptoms of Kali-yuga


                O, learned one in the age of Kali, men have but

                short lives. They are quarrelsome, lazy,

                misguided unlucky and above all, always







      There is a chronological order of the four yugas - Satya,         Dvapara, Treta and Kali. Sometimes there is an overlapping.

      During the regime of Vaivasvata Manu there was an

      overlapping of the twenty eighth divya-yuga and the third

      yuga, Treta appears before the second, Dvapara. When this

      happens the source of all incarnations, Krishna, appears.

      Every yuga is divided into three periods called sandhyas.

                                                   (S.B. 1.4.14)



   One thousand divya-yugas equals one day of Brahma. In Brahma's one day there are fourteen Manus. In each one Manu enjoys a life of seventy-two divya-yugas or 852,000 years of the demigods or 306,720,000 human years. After the dissolution of every Manu a new Manu comes. The seven great sages as well as the leaders in the heavenly planets like Indra, etc., also rotate along with each change of Manu. Thus with the change of each and every Manu the universal management also changes.



In Brahma's one day there are 14 Manus

In Brahma's one month there are 420 Manus

In Brahma's one year there are 5,040 manus

In Brahma's lifetime there are 504,000 Manus






   The present age is the Vaivasvata Manu and Brahma's present day is the Sveta Varaha Kalpa.


    14 Manus for this day of Brahma


1)  Svayambhuva Manu - son of Lord Brahma

2)  Svarocisa Manu   - son of Agni

3)  Uttama Manu      - son of Priyavrata

4)  Tamasa Manu      - brother of Uttama

5)  Raivata Manu     - brother of Tamasa

6)  Caksusa Manu     - son of the demigod Caksu

7)  Vaivasvata Manu  - son of the sun-god Vivasvan

8)  Savarni Manu     - son of the sun-god by his wife Chaya

9)  Daksa Savarni    - son of Varuna

10) Brahma Sarvani   _ son of Brahma

11) Dharma Savarni   - son of Ruci

12) Rudra Savarni    - son of Rudra

13) Deva Savarni     - son of Satyasaha

14) Indra Savarni    - son of Bhuti



    During the period of each manu different sages accept the position of Vyasa or the compiler of the Vedas, Puranas, etc. Thus in the Dvapara-yuga of each divya-yuga a different sage accepts the position of Vyasa.



    28 Vyasas of the Vaivasvata Manvantara


1)  Brahma                  15) Trayyaruna

2)  Prajapati or Manu       16) Dhananjaya

3)  Usana, Sukracarya       17) Krtanjaya

4)  Brhaspati               18) Rina

5)  Savitri                 19) Bharadvaja

6)  Yamaraja                20) Gautama

7)  Indra                   21) Uttama

8)  Vasistha                22) Vena

9)  Sarasvata               23) Somasushmapana

10) Tridhama                24) Riksha or Valmiki

11) Trivishan               25) Sakti, father of Parasara Muni

12) Bharadhvaja             26) Parasara Muni

13) Antariksa               27) Jaratkaru

14) Vapra                   28) Krishna Dvaipayana Vyasa



   In the next Dvapara-yuga the Vyasa will be Asvattama the son of Drona.